Categories‎ > ‎Contractors‎ > ‎

Competent Contractor Schemes

Employers are responsible for ensuring the workplace is a safe environment for their employees, visitors and contractors. Construction and service related activities can be high risk so it is important a process is in place to ensure contractors and sub-contractors are competent to carry out their work safely. This includes ensuring the contractor has the required level of insurance (employers liability, public liability, professional indemnity).
For the UK there are a number of associated trade bodies and approved schemes to help employers with the contractor selection process.

Gas Safe Register
By law any contractor carrying out works on gas installations and appliances must be on the register.

The National Inspection Council for Electrical Installation Contracting (NICEIC)
An approved contractor scheme to ensure contractors carry out electrical works to the national standard (BS 7671 / IEE Wiring Regulations).

Construction Skills Certification Scheme (CSCS)
Covering a number of specific construction related trades the contractor will be issued with a card on successfully completing a health and safety test. The card will state the contractors related trade qualification.

This is the governments national record of suppliers. Suppliers of goods and services must complete a comprehensive pre-assessment of 9 criteria disciplines including financial information, references, insurance, health and safety, equal opportunities, environmental standards, category registration, geographical areas, and management team information.

Contractors Health and Safety Assessment Scheme (CHAS)

Suppliers of goods and services must complete a health and safety focused pre-assessment to the required threshold.

Construction Certificate